Still waiting for my saviour (photograph)

by bjmuirhead

I think of this as belonging to my road kill series, even though it is a photograph of a dead eagle. It was lying on the side of the road, flesh quietly rotted away, but the feathers! It was impossible to resist a shot or ten, of which this is the best. As for the title, it seemed to me that it was waiting.

Dead bird

Still waiting for my saviour

It has been quite a while since I looked at my photographs of dead animals, but after a year of being incapable of doing anything, I am looking again, and thinking that an exhibition needs to be held sooner or later. Of course, I included some road kill in my show Flesh, at theGrid in Toowoomba, but that was a couple of years ago now, and it was focused on the idea that males genitals are no different to dead animals.

Actually, one of the things that most amazed me when I visited the University of Queensland anatomy laboratory, long ago, was just how much like an animal dried in the sun a laboratory cadaver was. That may have had something to do with the way the cadaver is, essentially, “pressure cooked” so that it comes out like jerky.  “Pressure cooked” was the way the people performing the process on a new cadaver referred to it. I don’t actually know the exact process, but the result is very similar to bits of cooked meat I have seen on the highways outback.

 

It makes me think!

